Conor Abbott Brown

Composer / Clarinetist

Featured Compositions

How to Relax with Origami

for orchestra
2017 Featured Composition Orchestra


for SATB chorus or mixed children's and adult chorus
2015 Chorus Featured Composition


for amplified violin, vocals, and fixed media
2019 Featured Composition

The Gate

for amplified clarinet, bass clarinet, and vocals; with electronics and fixed media
2018 Bass Clarinet Clarinet Clarinet Performance Electronics Featured Composition Fixed media Multimedia


Conor Abbott Brown is a composer and clarinetist from Altona, Colorado. His music is informed by the sweeping prairies, big sky, and jagged peaks of the American West. His compositions often feature complex, driving rhythms, sustained tension, and ornamentation inspired by folk music from around the world. Brown has had works commissioned by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the Albany Symphony Orchestra, groundbreaking amplified chamber orchestra Dogs of Desire, clarinet virtuoso David Krakauer, the American Symphony Orchestra, Contemporaneous, Ars Nova Singers, the Colorado Children’s Chorale, and many others. His work Early Winter Spires was recently released on the record Scenes From Home by clarinetist Kellan Toohey. Brown’s composition Ladun hiihan laulajille was presented at the Embassy of Finland in Washington D.C. in 2017 in commemoration of the centenary of Finnish independence and received repeat performances in Helsinki, Finland, and in New York City at Carnegie Hall in the Fall of 2018. Brown is a member of the Code Switch Composers Collective. As a performer, Brown has appeared as the guest principal clarinetist of the American Symphony Orchestra, and is the clarinetist of the Boulder Altitude Directive, a chamber ensemble dedicated to performing the works of living composers. Brown holds an MM in music composition from the University of Colorado at Boulder as well as a BA in dance and a BM in music composition from Bard College and the Bard College Conservatory of Music.